Soy Allergy Diet
General guidelines for soy allergy:
The key to an allergy-free diet is to avoid giving your child the foods or products containing the food he/she is allergic to. The items that your child is allergic to are called allergens.
A soy allergy is an abnormal response of the body to the proteins found in soy. Soybeans are classified as a legume. Other foods in the legume family are navy, kidney, string, black, and pinto beans, chickpeas (garbanzo beans), lentils, carob, licorice, and peanuts. Sensitivity to peanuts is the most common, but soybean sensitivity is also prevalent. Sensitivity to one legume can often be in association with sensitivity to another legume.
|Breads & Starches||Breads, baked goods, cereals not containing soy ingredients
Potato chips or popcorn cooked in soy oil
Plain macaroni, rice, barley, rye, wheat, oats, or grits
|Breads, crackers, cakes, rolls, or pastries containing peanuts, peanut oil, soy flour
Process and "natural" cereals which contain soy ingredients
|Vegetables||Fresh, frozen, or canned vegetables (except those listed as not allowed) without sauces or breading containing soy ingredients||Soy beans, soybean sprouts
Any vegetables prepared with sauces or breading containing soy products
|Fruit||All fresh, frozen, or canned fruits and juices process without soy products||Fruit drink mixed or sauces/toppings for fruit which contain soy ingredients|
|Soy-based formulas, coffee substitutes with soy, instant coffee, hot cocoa mixes, malt beverages, fruit drink mixes made with soy ingredients|
|Meat & Meat Substitutes||Any fresh or frozen beef, chicken, lamb, pork, turkey, veal, or fish served without prepackaged sauces, breading, or gravy||Pork link sausage, deli/luncheon meats made with soy
Commercially prepared meats where soy is used as a meat extender
Meat or cheese substitutes which contain soy: tofu/bean curd, natto, miso
Textured vegetable protein (TVP)
|Milk & Milk Products||Milk, cheese, cottage cheese, or yogurt without soy products||Milk drinks or milk substitutes that contain soy|
|Soups & Combination Foods||Homemade soups and commercial soups that do not contain soybeans||Soy is used in many canned soups, commercial entrees, and combination foods|
|Desserts & Sweets||Ice cream, gelatin, cookies made without soy ingredients||Baked goods, such as cakes or cookies which contain soy flour
Soy products may be used in some commercial ice creams and other frozen desserts
Hard candies, nut candies, fudge, and caramels made with soy flour
|Fats & Oils||Butter, margarines, shortening||Margarine and butter substitutes
Some salad dressings, mayonnaise, sauces, or gravies containing soy products
Roasted soybeans or "soy nuts"
|Condiments & Miscellaneous||Sugar, honey, molasses, catsup, mustard, jelly, jam, plain sugar candies, syrup, pickles||Commercial vegetarian products and meat substitutes
Heinz® Worcestershire sauce, Lea & Perrins® sauce, fermented soybean pastes (miso and natto)
Soy sauce, tamari sauce, granola, or breakfast bars made with soy
Imitation bacon bits made with soy
How to read a label for a soy-free diet:
Be sure to avoid giving your child foods that contain any of the following ingredients:
- hydrolyzed soy protein
- shoyo sauce
- soy flour
- soy grits
- soy nuts
- soy milk
- soy sprouts
- soy protein concentrate
- soy protein isolate
- soy sauce
- textured vegetable protein (TVP)
Other possible sources of soy or soy products:
- hydrolyzed plant protein
- hydrolyzed vegetable protein
- natural flavoring
- vegetable broth
- vegetable gum
- vegetable starch
To avoid soy and soy products:
- Contact the manufacture to identify the natural flavorings in foods. Ask if they use soy as a carrier protein for the natural flavoring.
- Flavorings may be soy based.
- Hydrolyzed plant and hydrolyzed vegetable protein in the US are likely to be soy.
- Contact the company to identify vegetable broth, gums, and starches, as they have the potential to be soy.
Click here to view the
Online Resources of Allergy, Asthma, & Immunology