Keeping your precious cargo safe
Motor vehicle crashes are the leading cause of death for children ages 1-14 in the United States. CHOC Child Passenger Safety classes cover California Law on restraining children in the car, best practices, how to select an appropriate seat for your child, and what you need to know to use and install your child restraint correctly.
Register for a Free Class
Location and class times vary. Please call 714-509-8887 for more information and to register. Class registration is required.
- Click here for CPS Safety Tips
- Click here for Motor Vehicle Safety Information
- Click here for more information on Child Passenger Safety from the American Academy of Pediatrics website
Car Seat Inspections
Parents may schedule a car seat inspection with one of the program's experienced Certified Child Passenger Safety Technicians. At the individual appointment, parents are educated on identified problems with the use and installation of their child safety seat. Parents who have attended a Child Passenger Safety Class may schedule an inspection at a discounted rate.
Fee: $50 per car seat
Information: Appointment required, please call 714-509-8887 to schedule an appointment.
Child Safety Seat Distribution Program
The Child Safety Seat Distribution Program assists parents who, for financial reasons, are unable to provide a safe, appropriate car seat or booster seat for the child or children. Following an initial assessment, the parents are scheduled for a distribution class which includes education on the use and installation of the seat, as well as current information about California Laws regarding restraining children during transport.
Fee: $30 per car seat
Information: Referral*, assessment and appointment required: 714-509-8887
All CPS Program services are available in Spanish.
*A referral from a health care provider or service provider is required for parents requesting to participate in the low-cost child safety seat distribution program.